ABB Formula E Announces Cape Town Joins Season 9 Calendar

FIA Formula E logo

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship is set to race in Cape Town, South Africa, for the first time on February 25, 2023, following approval at the recent FIA World Motor Sport Council meeting.

Cape Town joins Hyderabad, India, and São Paulo, Brazil, as new cities scheduled to hold races in Season 9 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, which opens in Mexico City, Mexico, on January 14.

In addition, Berlin will now host a doubleheader race weekend on April 22–23, while the two races previously announced for Seoul have been removed from the calendar. Locations for Rounds 10 and 13 in the 17-race season are being finalized and will be announced at a later date.

Season 9 will mark the beginning of the Gen3 era in the all-electric, single-seater racing series.

For more information, visit   

Formula E
Image courtesy of Formula E, FIA

Stay Connected

Sign Up For The PRI eNewsletter to get the latest in racing industry news, special events, new product information and more directly to your inbox.