New Owner For Macon Speedway (IL) 

Macon Speedway (IL) logo

Macon Speedway has new owners for the 2023 season. Chris Kearns, longtime race official and promoter, has assumed ownership of the 1/5-mile dirt oval in Macon, Illinois. 

“Macon Speedway has been my favorite dirt track in the country ever since I attended my first Herald & Review 100 20-plus years ago. Now, owning and promoting Macon Speedway is very surreal for me,” Kearns said.

Kearns is known for the Wild West Shootout, a six-race series for National Late Models, Modifieds, and X Mods at Vado Speedway Park in Vado, New Mexico. He also owned the Western Allstars Late Model Series from 2006–2007; promoted Santa Maria Raceway in Nipomo, California; served as the series director USAC’s CRA & 360 Sprints for 13 years; and worked with Greg Biffle’s Sand Outlaw Series and Tony Stewart’s SRX Series.

The track has been under the leadership of Track Enterprises’ Bob Sargent, the owner and promoter since 1985. In 2007, Ken Schrader, Tony Stewart, and Kenny Wallace joined Sargent as speedway co-owners. Sargent will continue to serve as the president of Track Enterprises racing promotion company and as the promoter at Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, Illinois) and Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway (Nashville, Tennessee). 

Macon Speedway was originally opened in 1946 by Wayne Webb. The 78th season is set to begin with the season opener on Saturday, April 8.

For more information, visit

Stay Connected

Sign Up For The PRI eNewsletter to get the latest in racing industry news, special events, new product information and more directly to your inbox.