SEMA Welcomes New Board Members At Annual Banquet | Performance Racing Industry
SEMA Welcomes New Board Members At Annual Banquet
July 29, 2013
The Installation Banquet & Gala Fundraiser was hosted by SEMA on Friday, July 26, at the Sheraton Fairplex Conference Center, Pomona, California.
SEMA Welcomes New Board Members At Annual Banquet

SEMA's Annual Installation Banquet & Gala Fundraiser event took place last Friday, July 26, at the Sheraton Fairplex Conference Center in Pomona, California. It serves to thank its association's outgoing Board members and welcome those who have been newly elected.

Doug Evans of Source Interlink Media has been elected the Chairman-elect of SEMA and joins two newly elected Board members to help lead the association for the 2013–2015 term. Evans fills the position held for the past two years by Nate Shelton of B&M Automotive Group. Shelton will begin serving his term as Chairman. The newly elected SEMA Board volunteers are Kyle Fickler of Weld Racing and Tim Watts of Superlift Suspension. Jeff Bates of Bob Cook Sales was re-elected to serve another term.

2013-2014 SEMA Board of Directors:

Chairman of the Board: Nate Shelton, B&M Automotive Group

Chairman-elect: Doug Evans, Source Interlink Media

Immediate-Past Chairman: Scooter Brothers, COMP Performance Group

Board Members:

•    Jeff Bates - Principal/Partner, Bob Cook Sales
•    Jim Bingham - President and CEO, Winner's Circle Speed & Custom Inc.
•    Luanne Brown - President & CEO, eTool Developers
•    Nick Gramelspacher - National Sales Manager, Meyer Distributing
•    John Hotchkis - President, Hotchkis Performance LLC
•    Kyle Fickler - Vice President of Sales, Weld Racing
•    JR Moore - Director, Warehouse Operations, Performance Warehouse
•    Russell Stephens - President, MSD Performance
•    Tim Watts - Vice President of Sales & Marketing, Superlift Suspension
•    Steve Wolcott - CEO, ProMedia LLC

John Johnson of The Spartan Group will serve as secretary/treasurer, and Russ Deane of Trainum, Snowdon & Deane continues as general counsel.

The SEMA Banquet is also the setting in which SEMA announces the newest selections its Hall of Fame—a group whose inductees not only represent our industry's history, but also its members' dedication, service and devotion to their business.

This years SEMA Hall of Fame Inductees include George Barris, Eric Grant, Wade Kawasaki and Joe Schubeck. Barris is a legendary vehicle customizer, well known for his celebrity creations, including the Batmobile, Munster Koach, KITT from "Knight Rider" and the "Dukes of Hazard's" General Lee. Grant represented the government agency that eventually evolved to be the California Air Resources Board. Kawasaki is a past chairman for the SEMA Show Committee, Governance Committee, International Task Force and Audit Review Committee. Schubeck began his Top Fuel racing career in the '60s, while his greatest contribution to the industry came during his post-racing career.

A special event returning to the banquet again this year was the Pinewood Drag Races to raise charitable contributions for SEMA Cares. The races featured three classes: Stock, Unlimited and Modified. Sponsors could select to build their own SEMA-supplied stock car or truck, or choose to sponsor  a cild-built vehicle in the Build It For Me (BIFM) Stock Class.