30-Year Sanction Awards Going To Independence, Boone Tracks | Performance Racing Industry
30-Year Sanction Awards Going To Independence, Boone Tracks
November 7, 2012
In all, 26 tracks are to receive length of sanction awards for five, 10, 15, 20, 25 or 30 consecutive years; a total of 36 honors will be bestowed at the IMCA national awards banquet November 24.
30-Year Sanction Awards Going To Independence, Boone Tracks

Two more of IMCA’s longest sanctioned tracks will be recognized during the November 24 national awards banquet in Lincoln, Nebraska.

Thirty-year Modified sanction awards will be presented to Independence, Iowa, Motor Speedway and Boone, Iowa, Speedway.

In all, 26 tracks are to receive length of sanction awards for five, 10, 15, 20, 25 or 30 consecutive years. A total of 36 awards are to be presented.

Crystal, Mich., Motor Speedway and WaKeeney, Kan., Speedway are to be honored with 25-year sanction awards for Modifieds.

Twenty-year awards go to Mohave Valley Raceway in Bullhead City, Ariz., Thunderhill Raceway, in Sturgeon Bay, Wis., and Thunder Mountain Raceway in Olathe, Colo., for Modifieds and Seymour, Wis., Speedway, for Stock Cars.

Five tracks get 15-year plaques: 281 Speedway in Stephenville, Texas, Buena Vista Raceway in Alta, Iowa, and Dacotah Speedway in Mandan, N.D., for Modifieds; Davenport, Iowa, Speedway for Late Models and Redwood Speedway in Redwood Falls, Minn., for Sprint Cars.

Ten-year awards go to Atomic Motor Raceway in Atomic City, Idaho for Modifieds; Thunder Mountain Raceway and WaKeeney Speedway for Stock Cars; and Luxemburg, Wis., Speedway and Thunderhill Raceway, both for Hobby Stocks.

Sherman County Speedway in Goodland, Kan., and Thomas County Speedway in Colby, Kan., both receive five-year awards for Modifieds, Stock Cars and Hobby Stocks.

Dodge City, Kan., Raceway Park, gets five-year awards for Modifieds and Stock Cars.

Tracks receiving five-year awards for sanctioning their Modified division with IMCA include Hamilton County Speedway in Webster City, Iowa, Lovelock, Nev., Speedway, Montezuma County Fairgrounds Speedway in Cortez, Colo., and Phillips County Raceway in Holyoke, Colo.

Also in line for five-year awards are Dubuque, Iowa, Speedway and Farley, Iowa, Speedway, both for Late Models; Quincy, Ill., Raceway for Stock Cars; and Beatrice, Neb., Speedway, Independence Motor Speedway, Seymour, Speedway and Thunderhill Raceway, all for Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods.

Drivers winning championships and rookie of the year awards will also receive awards during the November 24 banquet at the Cornhusker Hotel in downtown Lincoln. Cocktails are at 5 p.m., with dinner at 6 p.m. and the ceremony to follow.

This is the first time the event will be broadcast on www.xsan.tv. Tickets are $30 each and can be ordered by calling the IMCA home office at 319/472-2201.

Banquet goers should call the hotel at 402/474-7474 and request the IMCA group rate regarding overnight accommodations.

Fourteen IMCA marketing partners will receive sanction awards. RSVPs are also requested from those planning to attend the Friday, November 23 open house at the Smith Collection of American Speed, on the Speedway Motors campus in Lincoln.